Home > creativity, filmmaking, personal > Follow Your God-given Dreams

Follow Your God-given Dreams

I guess you could say I’ve come a long way since I wrote my first article for Christian Video Magazine (now Christian Media Magazine). It was entitled something like “How to Make Great Work on Not-So-Great Equipment.” I remember the equipment I had at the time was a Sony Digital 8 handicam, flood lights, a shower curtain, and my work was not really “great.” But through writing and learning, and learning so I’d have something to write about, I got to the point where I am now a professional video editor at an international organization (www.gnpi.org). In my personal filmmaking, I have gone from making videos for churches to use on Sermonspice and WorhsipHouseMedia to having a one-hour documentary that will air on PBS stations in Kansas City, Warrensburg, Wichita, Topeka, and the Ozarks on May 22nd, the fifth anniversary of the devastating tornado in Joplin – (see www.vimeo.com/ondemand/steadfast).

I say this not to brag. In fact, I can hardly believe it. I still have so much to learn and improve on! I say this only to motivate some of you who might have a dream and think you will never achieve it. I never went to school to study filmmaking. I learned by trial and error (and certainly more on the error side). I practiced and just kept creating.

I love this flowchart graphic because it’s so applies to my experience:

make-more-art
I made lots of stuff I’d be embarrassed to show today. And that’s what everyone says! You’ve got to start somewhere. If God has given you a dream, you’ve got to follow it, or you’ll live forever saying “What if?” To get to a level where you are proud of your work may time some time, but it’s worth the courage it takes to push through. I still have dreams, and I’ll continue to pursue them. In the meantime, I’m going to keep practicing and creating.
Don’t be content just to dream. Work to achieve it. The world is waiting. Get out what God put in you.
neverforget
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

