Home > fun, personal, Uncategorized > Is Your Name Tony?

Is Your Name Tony?

photo (22)I had an unexpected encounter on the flight home. This wasn’t the international flight on a spacious 767 with TVs on every seat-back. This was on the little plane that I couldn’t stand up straight in the aisle at 6 foot 1. Two seats, little aisle, and then two more seats. To my right was a young mother with her 7 month old (A very well-behaved baby, I must say; more so than the other babies on the flight anyway!).

To my left, separated only by the narrow passage was a man that I recognized. He appeared slightly different than I remember seeing him before on a video. There was one dead giveaway. He has no arms. Just to make sure, I asked him what his name was, and when he said Tony, I knew he was the guy. We conversed and once we landed, I snapped this picture with him.

Tony Meléndez is his name. Like I said, I had seen his video online before and even showed it in church once! I am a musician. I’m a guitar player first. But I have full use of arms and fingers. Tony plays guitar and sings. He plays with his feet! Really well! He drives a car. He is truly an inspiration! Don’t take it from me. Pope John Paul II said as much when Tony played for him! So, I’m done writing. All that’s left is to embed the video that struck me and caused me to recognize this inspirational man on this little flight.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

