Risk

“Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage

to lose sight of the shore.” -Andre Gide

I recently blogged about a new season in my life. My move across states to a different line of work is perhaps considered risking business. I leaving behind a full-time job with benefits, and relying on my own entrepreneurial endeavors, becoming self-employed with all of its challenges. A bit of a gamble some might say. What if I fail? Crash and burn? With all those little mouths to feed and such?

“Yes, risk taking is inherently failure-prone. Otherwise, it would be

called sure-thing-taking.” -Jim McMahon

Risk is necessary if growth is desired. I am stepping out in faith, and it’s something that I feel I have been building towards for some time now. The challenge and opportunity present is what God has been leading me to undertake. This God element makes it a no-brainier, because if it is from Him, no one can stop it. Companies that don’t ever take any risks often are the very ones that fail. Can the same be said of people? Has God ever been known to ask people to step out in faith?

“Take calculated risks. That is quite different from

being rash.” -General George S. Patton

As doors and opportunities present themselves and we’ve suppressed our imagined fears and acted, we’ve seen a confirmation of sorts in how smoothly and easily things are falling into place. For instance, one of the biggest areas that I would worry about was the selling of our house, in this economy. I’ve seen houses sit on the market forever, some on our street, even! In two weeks, ours sold! I half expected to move in with my parents with our four kids and be cramped for a couple of months to avoid two payments anywhere, but the house is under contract.

So now where to live? We found a great house with just about everything we wanted and are under contract already. We’ll have a lot more space then we do currently, and be paying a lot less for it too! Here’s the kicker. We’re able to stay in our house for a few days after the buyer closes, so we can be present at church the last Sunday of the month, and we can move into the new place a few days before we close on it. That could not be more perfect.

One more occurrence worth noting is that two weeks before leaving my current ministry, we have a candidate in town visiting and interviewing and trying out for my position. He claims that this vacancy that I created and the fact that our church approached him directly is an answer to his prayers for guidance in his life. God works in interesting and mysterious ways, especially when there’s an element of risky faith involved.

I enjoy the game of Texas Hold ‘Em. It’s a great game because when the timing is right, after weighing all of the options, factoring in odds and probabilities and a number of other variables, there comes a point where you have to simply put all of the chips in the middle. This ALL IN  is a frightening moment, but when done right, the payoff is huge. This is kind of how I feel right now.

How about you? Is there anything you’ve put off for far too long because of the risk involved? What are you going to do?

Categories: creativity, personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

