Home > filmmaking > $50 Stabilizer!

$50 Stabilizer!

I recently stumbled upon Guerricam’s Low-Cost Camera Stabilizer for Guerrilla Filmmakers. He has an IndieGoGo campaign in effect right now for the next 30 days or so. If you go right now to http://www.indiegogo.com/GUERRICAM-Camera-Stabilizer you may be able to pick up yours for $25 plus shipping. If you wait, you’ll pay a little more. I went ahead and contributed towards this first production run and claimed one as a perk.

I asked if it would work for a 7D with a small prime lens on it. He said he had tested successfully on a T2i with many lenses (some heavy).  The total weight would be about the same. Obviously it’ll take some tweaking and practice, but for that price, what’s to lose??? I’ve done some DIY (see my DIY category of posts), but this looks great and affordable.

Here’s Guerricam’s prototype test:

 

Again, you can go to http://www.indiegogo.com/GUERRICAM-Camera-Stabilizer to contribute like I did and secure your stabilizer with improvements over this prototype from the first production run. I did. After I get mine, I’ll post some footage and my thoughts. But by then, it’ll be too late for you to get yours shipped to your door this cheap! Act now. (Sounds like an infomercial, huh?)

  1. AndyH
    January 10, 2012 at 10:35 pm

    Hi, nice article. Have you managed to try it out with your 7D yet? I’m looking for a stabilizer for my 60D which probably weighs about the same.

    Can you post a review?

    • January 10, 2012 at 10:40 pm

      Actually, I’m still waiting on it. According to the maker, it should be arriving anytime this month. He had this update a while back:

      “Also, I have made a short video showcasing the capabilities of the stabilizer. I have made it the main video for this campaign. The old video is still available here: http://vimeo.com/30698113
      Next up is a video showing exactly how the stabilizer works with different kind of cameras (DSLR, Point-and-Shoot, etc…). I’ll show you how to balance the stabilizer and maybe a few tips on how to use it, but I’m still very new at this, so we’ll see!”

      Here’s that video- http://vimeo.com/31522508 I’ll probably post again once I get it and try it out. I have a 7D.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

