Home > fun, personal > Good and Bad

Good and Bad

We’re always surrounded with good and bad. Many times we ourselves wallow in between both realities.

This morning I did something that was good. My mission was to refill both of our 5 gallon water jugs, which were depleted. On top of that I had to go to the bank and then buy some coffee and Mexican sweet bread for my wife, and I had the presence of mind to get her an anniversary card as well. Last but certainly not least, was the ever-present cliché of milk and bread. As I was checking out, I added 25 cents to get a reusable bag, since we have a plastic bag ban in the city, and as I loaded up I headed for the near exit. I almost did a bad thing, forgetting to pay for my $14 in merchandise. The clerk said, “Sir.” and I came to my senses. I think I was so focused on the water-filling task at hand.

Anyway, a large gruff man became noticeably frustrated at my leaving the cart in the clear path to the exit, and as he viciously moved my cart out of the way I caught a glimpse of what was in his precious cart– 3 large glass containers of hard liquor.  I proceeded to pay for my essentials and watched him leave. As he got outside, he snagged a large bag of Flavoraid Pop Ice from an outdoor display without paying for it! And he was gone. As I went outside to purchase 10 gallons of filtered water, I could see this burly man in the parking lot. Of course he parked his motorcycle in a no park zone. I had a good concept of bikers lately as 500 to 1000 of them held off the Westboro clan from protesting my hometown of Joplin’s Memorial Service on Sunday. But this guy left a bad taste in my mouth. He carefully wrapped up his booze in the store’s weekly ad and drove off to begin his day of drinking.

As I arrived at the ol’ homestead I could hear my wife in the other room saying to my one and a half year old daughter, “Bad girl, bad girl, bad girl.” That’s all I could hear from my vantage point, but it turns out they were having a full-fledged conversation. As she said, “bad girl” the baby would reply “good girl”, and this was repeated multiple times. I don’t know what this little good/bad girl had done, but I know her, how she’s always getting into everything. She is as apt as anyone to do much good or bad.

What’s your take-away, if you’ve made it thus far? Do something good today. Something much better than I described. Why don’t you start by giving to the Joplin Tornado relief cause? 1/3 of the town I love was completely devastated. My home church is one of the main distribution centers and work crew hubs in the community. You can give $10-whatever amount you’d like to their storm fund and it will all go to the victims of this tornado who lost everything: http://www.chcchurch.org/the-storm. My wife and I will leave after church on Sunday to drive 16 hours north with a mini-van full of stuff we’ve been collecting that they need.

So whether it’s this or that, do some good today.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

