Home > DIY, filmmaking, fun, personal > DIY Project #dos

DIY Project #dos

Here’s my latest DIY project for DSLR video, project número dos.

It’s a fig rig. To do this I used this tutorial- http://vimeo.com/16415597. The sprinkler tube clamps were impossible to find. In the comments it was stated that these would be hard to find. I gave up and went with plan B, simply using PVC T’s in their place. Also on the top part of the fig rig I customized mine using some 90 degree elbows to extend it out slightly to make room for putting my 7 in. monitor in the cold shoe mount above the camera in this application.

The plate at the bottom was done differently than in the tutorial. I came up with this part all by myself, which for me– non build-it type guy (computer geek)– that’s a pretty big accomplishment. You can see in the pics here that I used a thumb screw with a washer and bolt. It’s fairly easy to attach and take it off using this setup.

Here are pictures in stages:

I still need to touch up some of the paint job (plastic spray paint) and add some bike handles to the side for a better grip. Since it’s all glued down I’ll probably have to cut those to get them on and glue them to the PVC.

Do-it-yourself is a lot of fun and it saves a ton of money. Check out my other posts in the DIY category. On a more serious note let me interject something here. I ended my May Article for www.christianvideomag.com this way:

Do it yourself philosophy is not always a good one. In matters such as salvation, it’s obviously an impossibility. Another area where this concept is discouraged and rightly so is in ministry, care, and charity. As I write this, my hometown of Joplin, Missouri weighs heavy on my heart. With such devastation, we cannot simply tell those victims of the single deadliest tornado in history to do it themselves. The long relief effort must be shared by concerned and generous souls. I know Joplin is a resilient town, and the body of Christ is in action in that place. However, we should not expect them to rebuild all by themselves. Any support you can give would help so very much. I plan on investing some of my savings gained by doing DIY projects, to assist in the on-going relief effort, and organizing further assistance for the cause. I know of many great places where you too can help. If you are moved to do so, email me at fish.gregory@gmail.com and I will connect you. Thanks.

  1. May 27, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    explain the 7 inch monitor; i.e. price, how to hook it up, etc. I’m totally interested in that…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

