Home > DIY, filmmaking > DSLR DIY Project 1

DSLR DIY Project 1

My first DSLR DIY project is a shoulder rig made out of PVC. I am not really a hands on type of guy. I’m more of a computer geek and not a builder, but I actually was able to put this together, and I’m pretty proud of it. I had my wife help me with some of the glue and stuff, but the cuts were a breeze with a $9 PVC cutter. Much better than a hack saw!  Here are the pics in a few steps:

I adapted the plans from this video http://youtu.be/sa7eeZgqRas and customized it to my liking. I made the shoulder shorter. I may extend it somehow to add weight if needed. But this allowed me to get up close to my viewfinder. I have it in three pieces right now so that it can be broken down, but I’m considering gluing it all together. I’ve done most of my shopping (twice at Home Depot and once at Lowes) for two other projects that will be blogged about once I’m done with them. Until then…happy filming!

UPDATE:  I made some easy modifications to make it better for me. You have to fit it to your liking- https://fishxpressions.wordpress.com/2011/07/13/shoulder-mount-diy-mods/. Here it is in action- https://fishxpressions.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/diy-shoulder-mount-in-action/.

  1. May 19, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    alright… now I’m curious…. what lens? Do you like the lens? Where’s you get the viewfinder? Did you find that this smoothed out your video work?

  2. May 19, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    I actually haven’t really shot anything with it yet. I may need to add and extension and some weight, but we’ll see.
    The lens is Canon 50mm 1.4. It’s great. The viewfinder is one of these: http://cheesycam.com/the-99-3-lcd-view-finder-goes-49/
    Also in the pic is a Genus Fader ND and a rubber lens hood.

  3. August 23, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    You made this from scratch right. Great stuff, does it actually work?

  4. September 12, 2011 at 5:22 am

    Hi, how long did this take to put together, it looks like the sort of thing my son would love to do. Where did you get the idea for such a project?

  1. July 13, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Leave a Reply

