Home > original videos, personal > My Best VBS Highlights Video (I think)

My Best VBS Highlights Video (I think)

We just finished a wonderful week of ministry at our church.  VBS is a lot of fun, and it is always my task as resident video guy to capture that joy and preserve it in the church archives in the form of a highlights reel.  This for me is an easy job and one that I very much enjoy doing.  Usually it is done very quickly and, though I hate to say it, kind of throw together in a nonchalant fashion.  I never would recommend this style of editing, but it happens and is accepted as being OK.  It always bothers me due to my standard of excellence.  I’ve blamed it on the time crunch– being busy and having to finish by Friday’s big finale.  This year, I had some more time to dedicate to it, since I was home sick half of the week.  I decided to edit with intent.  

I remember one year I threw a bunch of footage into Muvee AutoProducer and added music, made a few changes and was done with it.  I gather that I’m not the only one that has been in this unfortunate situation.  This time having spent the time to sync the lyrics and music to what’s on the screen, I was much more pleased with the outcome.  Taking the time to do a few more advanced techniques and raising the production value really paid off.  Though I wasn’t there for the debut, I heard about it.  There were many good comments about the video and I heard reports about how much people liked it.  I got to see the reaction of the audience on Sunday.  I’ve seen the video shared all over Facebook within our community.  It gave me a sense of satisfaction, much more than previous years. 

(This was part of July’s Christian Video Magazine Article- http://www.christianvideomag.com/articles/articles.php?recordID=246.   I walk through the editing process for this vid.  For free subscription- www.christianvideomag.com)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

