Home > original videos, personal > Determined to make it work

Determined to make it work

Where to begin? It’s 6:10am.  I’ve been working on this short video for some time now.  It’s finally done.  I’ve had some trouble with it, but I’ve been determined to make it work.  And I think it does in the end.  It started with me wanting to get better at After Effects.  So I ordered a 99 cent DVD, and a $5 book, and total training on DVDs for $25!  But those haven’t come in yet.  So I watched Andrew Kramer’s stuff on http://www.videocopilot.net/basic/ (an amazing FREE resource!!!).  I started a file I named “exp” short for experimenting.  Well, that experimentation turned into this video.  And it “ate my lunch” so to speak for the better part of this week’s free time.  Yes, I did take the fam to a  D League basketball game, I wasn’t an absent presence at home.  But just about every minute I could squeeze in, I was editing.  Whether it was preparing the images in photoshop, tedious work with magnetic lasso, or eraser, or the actual 3D animations on AE where every keyframe has to be perfect, it was pretty draining for a 1 1/2 minute segment!  The night before last I worked 4 hours straight, slept, couldn’t sleep well because my mind was still editing, woke up edited more, went to work, came home for lunch, edited and ate, went back to work, came home, edited, rendered (which took all night) went to bed, couldn’t sleep well because I’m DETERMINED TO MAKE IT WORK!  At 4:30am this morning I was able to add the music and render in Premiere.  I think it’s finally done.  I’m sure experts could have done it a lot quicker.  This was my first stab at this genre of video.  By the end, I was finally getting the hang of it.  In the process at times I was scratching my head!!  Especially since I started in the middle and had to backtrack.  Oh well.  Here’s the video.  Enjoy!

You can download or preview here too: http://www.sermonspice.com/videos/25050/god-cant-use-you (sound is much better than youtube’s version).

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

